Latest News

2021 MEA Bursary Program - And the Winners Are..................

September 3, 2021

The MEA is pleased to announce it has awarded nine (9) bursaries this summer to assist children/dependents of municipal employees/elected councillors who have enrolled in an Engineering Program at the University level for the upcoming 2021/2022 academic year.

The MEA values the contribution of all municipal employees, is committed to the continued technical excellence of our future municipal engineers, is sensitive to serving the community and the need for effective communication skills.

This is the 14th consecutive year the MEA has awarded bursaries to engineering students. Since the inception of the Bursary Program in 2008, the MEA has now awarded 120 bursaries totalling over $150,000.

This year’s bursary award winners……

The top 2 highest scoring applications are:

Rebecca Brydon, whose father, Tom Brydon, works for the Town of LaSalle.  Rebecca was awarded the John Hammer Memorial Bursary ($2,000);

Sydney Beatty, whose stepfather, Mark Reinert, works for the Town of Petawawa.  Sydney was awarded the inaugural William Robinson Memorial Bursary ($2,000);

Seven (7) additional bursaries valued at $1,500 awarded to:

Matthew Stranges              Nathan Cox              Tameem Hossain         Tyler Ruttle                       

Charlotte Arkell                  David Farrelly            Will Davey

Congratulations to this year's winners and good luck at University!